State Regulation of Public Utilities Review Committee

Sen. Thomas C. Alexander, Chairman Rep. William E. Sandifer, III, Vice Chairman Margaret Bluestein, Esquire Rep. P. Michael Forrester Sen. C. Bradley Hutto Dan Jones Rep. David J. Mack, III Sen. Luke A. Rankin, Sr. John S. Simmons, Esquire Richele K. Taylor, Esquire



Heather Anderson Committee Counsel Steve Davidson Committee Counsel

Post Office Box 142 Columbia, South Carolina 29202 (803) 212-6208

LEGAL AD:

The State Regulation of Public Utilities Review Committee ("Review Committee") is extending its screening process for Seats 1, 3, 5, and 7 of the South Carolina Public Service Commission ("Commission"). The Review Committee will be accepting applications for Seats 1, 3, 5, and 7 beginning Monday, February 3, 2020, until 12:00 p.m., Friday, February 28, 2020. The Commission has jurisdiction over matters pertaining to investor-owned electric and gas utilities, water and wastewater companies, telecommunications companies, carriers of household goods and hazardous waste for disposal, taxicabs, and other motor vehicle passenger carriers. A commissioner must have at least a baccalaureate degree and should have a background of substantial duration in one of the following areas: (a) energy; (b) telecommunications; (c) consumer protection and advocacy; (d) water and wastewater; (e) finance, economics, and statistics; (f) accounting; (g) engineering; or (h) law.

The Commission is composed of seven commissioners, one from each of the seven Congressional districts. The Commissioner for the First Public Service Commission District represents Charleston, Berkeley, Beaufort, Dorchester, and Colleton counties. The Commissioner for the Third Public Service Commission District represents Oconee, Pickens, Anderson, Abbeville, Laurens, Greenwood, McCormick, Edgefield, and Saluda counties, as well as parts of Newberry, and Greenville counties. The Commissioner for the Fifth Public Service Commission District represents Cherokee, York, Union, Chester, Lancaster, Fairfield, Kershaw, and Lee counties, and parts of Spartanburg, Newberry, and Sumter counties. The Commissioner for the Seventh Public Service Commission District represents Chesterfield, Marlboro, Darlington, Dillon, Florence, Marion, Horry, and Georgetown counties. Salary for these positions is \$129,482 annually.

Each candidate is required to submit a completed application form no later than the February 28th deadline. Applications will not be accepted after noon on Friday, February 28, 2020. Following the February 28th filing deadline, the Review Committee will begin its background investigation of candidates. Candidates and potential candidates are subject to certain restrictions with respect to contacting members of the General Assembly.

Application forms may be obtained from the State Regulation of Public Utilities Review Committee, 102 Gressette Building, Post Office Box 142, Columbia, South Carolina, 29202, by contacting Heather Anderson, (803) 212-6208 or heatheranderson@scsenate.gov, or by contacting Michelle McGee, (803) 212-6634 or michellemcgee@scsenate.gov. For further information, contact Ms. Anderson or Ms. McGee, or the Review Committee's website at: www.scstatehouse.gov/CommitteeInfo/PublicUtilitiesReviewComm/2019PublicServiceCommission ScreeningInfo.php.